Every year at River Action's annual Fish & Fire Friendraiser and Fundraiser we honor special people in our community with Eddy Awards.

CLICK to make your reservation online

CLICK to download mail-in reservation form

We acknowledge those who act as an eddy - "going against the current," to accomplish excellence on the Mississippi River in the areas of Art, Design, Revitalization, River Activity, Education, and Stewardship.

Our past winners include:


2000: John Bald/John Bloom “Waiting for the Ferry”

2001: Kunhild Blacklock, “The Gathering Place”

2002: Ted McElhiney, “Sunday in the Park”

2003: Quad City Arts, “Face the River”

2004: Buffalo School, Mississippi Mosaic

2005: On The River Magazine

2006: Moline, Bass Street Landing

2007: Ballet QC, “One River Mississippi”

2008: Artist’s Advisory Council, “Mississippi River Pallette”

2009: Dick Stahl, river inspired poetry

2010: Quad City Symphony, Riverfront Pops

2011: Julie Malake, Photography & Words

2012: Sierra Club, Environmental Film Fest

2013: Joe Taylor, East West Riverfest

2014: Barb Sandberg & Terri Smith, “Moline City of Mills” mural

2014: Lawrence Bay, “Will B Rolling” sculpture

2015: Mississippi Valley Blues Society, Mississippi Valley Blues Festival

2016: Pat Stolley & Josh Rose, Supporting Art in the QC

2016: Richard Bittner—Bechtel Trusts “Lincoln with Boy on Bridge”

2017: Heidi Brandt, "Art meets the River" Calendar

2018: QC Symphony, Joined by a River Season


2000: RENEW Moline, John Deere Commons

2001: Iowa-American Water Company, renovations of East River Station on River Drive

2002: Davenport, Centennial Park

2003: The Mark of the Quad Cities

2004: QC Rowing Assn, Sylvan Boat House design

2005: Rock Island, Centennial Bridge Infield

2006: DavenportOne, River Music Experience; Sky Bridge; and Figge Art Museum

2007: Davenport Police Station Green Roof

2008: “It’s On The River” Restaurant

2009: Rock Island Renaissance & Illinois EPA, McKesson Building Green Roof

2010: Rock Island, Schwiebert Riverfront Park

2011: Genesis Medical Center, Dr. Joseph Lohmuller, Green Roof

2012: Western IL University Riverfront Campus

2013: Bill Ashton, Bridge Engineering/Design

2013: Rodney Blackwell, KONE Center

2015: IA DOT, I-74 Pedestrian & Bike Trail

2016: Zachary Peterson, River Hertiage Park

2017: Dr. Joe Rives, Western Illinois University Quad City Campus

2018: City of Dubuque, Bee Branch Watershed Flood Mitigation Project


2000: Dianne Brugge, Environmental Club

2001: Roald Tweet for “Rock Island Lines” and writing the history of the Corps of Engineers

2002: Earl Hanson School, River Days

2003: Advanced Technology Environmental Education for “Brownfields in a Box” program

2004: Shaney Ford, Academy of Environmental Ed

2005: Chuck Oestreich

2006: Matt Hammil, WQAD TV River News

2007: Father Bud Grant, Environmental Club

2008: Cal Werner, support of Nahant Marsh

2009: Dr. Norm Moline & Dr. Charles Mahaffey

2010: Brian Ritter, Nahant Marsh Education Center

2011: Ballet QC, “The Ugly Duckling”

2012: Kristen Bergren, Author & Educator

2013: John Riches, Alcoa EagleCam/Education

2014: Robbin Dunn, K-12 curriculum & Watershed Festival

2015: Ellis Kell, Community Outreach Education

2016: Mark Roberts, Mississippi River EcoTourism Center Naturalist-guided cruises on the Miss. River

2016: Lisa Whalen, Environmental Education and Outreach

2017: Shifra Gassner, Joni Nelson, and Gail Heninger, Environmental Education and Outreach

2018: Dave Murcia, Wapsi River Environmental Education Center


2000: Moline Park Board, Ben Butterworth Memorial Parkway

2001: Heart of America Restaurants & Inns, Heart of America building

2002: RI Economic Growth Corporation, riverfront lofts

2003: Riverstone Group, Moline industrial site & Rock Island path bridge

2004: Abbey Station, Union Station & Freighthouse for renovation and reuse

2005: East Moline, The Quarter

2006: U.S. Army Corps of Engineers and MidAmerican Energy, Milan Bottoms

2007: Doug Reynolds, The Quarter & REDEEM

2008: Bechtel Trusts and Downtown Davenport Partnership Assoc., Bechtel Park

2009: RI Centennial Bridge Visitors Center

2010: Rock Island, Hydroelectric Plant

2011: Restoration St. Louis, Blackhawk Hotel and Forrest Block Restoration

2012: Brian Hollenback, RI Economic Growth

2013: Dave Schaefer/Davenport North Art Students & Kit Sayles/Davenport Central Art Students for repainting “Sunday in the Park” art sculptures

2014: Paul Rumler, Amtrak Chicago to QC Rail Initiative

2015: Karen Anderson & Charlie Heston, LeClaire, House Renovations & Programs

2016: Jeff Nelson, MetroLINK, The Locks/District Station

2016: Brian Hollenback, Renaissance Rock Island, The Locks/District Station

2017: Y&J Properties, Downtown Davenport

2018: Maria Ontiveros, Mercado on Fifth

2018: Anissa Wanat, Global Communities, Floreciente Neighborhood

River Activity

2000: Great River Trail Council, GRT

2001: Quad City Marathon

2002: MetroLINK, Channel Cat

2003: Lake Davenport Sailing Club, regattas, Sailing School, and family activities

2004: Bettendorf Park Board, Eagles Landing and Boat Launch Area

2005: Grand Excursion 2004 Board of Directors

2006: Bettendorf Parks and Recreation, the Riverfront Trail

2007: Rock Island, “Get On Board”

2008: Rock Island, Rock Island Arsenal, and Bi-State, ADT Trail Crossing

2009: Race Committee & Quad-City Times, Bix 7 Road Race

2010: Friends of Off Road Cycling, Sylvan Island Trails

2011: The Loop Transit System

2012: Kevin Kernan, Princeton Outdoor Adventures

2014: Mike Wennekamp, Adaptive Rowing Program; Greg Albansoder, Credit Island Bridge

2015: Dean Mathias, Bicycle Advocacy & Conservation

2016: Mayor Sony Paddock, City of Riverdale, Mississippi River Trial

2017: Tim Nelson, Tweed Ride

2018: Greg Farnham and Frank Schier, Rock River Trails Initiative


2000: Chad Pregracke, Xstream Cleanup

2001: Bald Eagle Days

2002: Barb Arland-Fye, river newspaper coverage

2003: Dr. R. Josef Hofmann, community activism for trails and clean water

2004: Bob Bryant, Wapsi Environmental Center

2005: St Ambrose University, management practices

2006: RI, Stormwater Management Program

2007: Curtis Lundy, Xsteam Cleanup, Save Our Streams, and IOWATER

2008: Rock Island, Sylvan Slough Natural Area; Dr. Mike Giudici, Greenway Habitat

2009: Sylvan Island Dreamers, Island Park

2010: Jerry Neff

2011: Fritz Fuhs, river clean-up /AMP Organization

2012: City of Bettendorf, Stormwater Projects

2013: Joe Pennings, LaFarge Renewable Fuel System

2014: Kathy Morris, iLive Here QC & Recycling

2015: Tony Singh, Walk for the Bees Project

2016: Tim Huey, Lost Grove Lake Conservation

2016: Brian Parkinson, Agricultural Conservation and Practices

2017: Art Norris, Pollution Cleanup at Green River

2017: Nahant Marsh Education Center

2017: Blackhawk Township, Hennepin Canal Restoration

2018: Robb and Jennifer Ewoldt, Best Management Practices in Agriculture

Special Recognition

2008: Mark Beorkrem, In Memoriam

2010: Paddy Blackman, Public Access

2012: Sally Heffernan, RI City Planner

2014: Ann Breen & Dick Rigby, Creative Collaborations

2014: Tom Wine, Volunteer

2015: Steve DuPron, Volunteerism & RTR Support

2016: William Gluba, River Advocacy

2016: Tom & Pat Bolton, Organization and Leadership

2016: Walt Bassow, Ride the River Barge Transport

2017: Tracy Dvorak, Volunteerism

2018: Reggie McCloud, 25th Year of "Big River Magazine"

2018: Dave Hill, In Memoriam

Do you know someone who deserves an Eddy Award? Give us your nominees for 2019 HERE.

Contact Us

River Action, Inc.
822 E. River Drive
Davenport, Iowa 52803
Phone: (563) 322-2969
Email: riveraction@riveraction.org

Contact Us

Go to top